Are You A Gardener?


clx-gift-guide-gardening-de

A friend told me a very long time ago that there are not enough gardeners. I agreed with him then, and I agree now. After all, what is a gardener? Someone who engages in growing things in the soil. Today, there are too many distractions, too much going on to waste time fiddling with green things sticking out of the soil, right?

What does it mean, really, to be a gardener though? Is it some kind of mystical sage-like profession where one engages in all kinds of strange activities such as plant whispering? Are all gardeners a bit “Touched”? Do they have all their marbles? Why would they waste time on plants, instead of people? What’s wrong with them after all? Or is it wrong to want to be close to the soil and growing things, instead of spending time with people?

I suppose that depends on your point of view. If you like to spend all your time discussing things, including the state of the world, and all your problems, and all everyone’s problems, and walk away at the end of the day and feel like you’ve “Solved” some issue somewhere or other, then by all means, spend your time with people all day and don’t garden. It’s not for you.

However, if you like to see something green and growing become larger and healthy, and perhaps even send up some flower stalks for you, or heaven forbid, give you some food, then gardening might be your thing. It’s not for the faint of heart, and it does require patience. There are times, however, when you get to see results right away. Gardening consists of all the activities of pruning, weeding, planting, preparing, dividing, nurturing, watering, fertilizing, and so on.

You must take care of your plants if you want them to grow and become beautiful. But, when they are grown and beautiful, you can sit back and admire them and enjoy them, and marvel at God’s goodness in providing us so much color and awesome variety for our gardens!

19544395-_sx540_

Maybe gardening is an attitude? I say that not because I’m wondering if all gardening oriented people are “Different” like me, but rather that they have realized there’s just so much more enjoyment out there when you can get away from people for a little while, get your hands dirty and maybe even get a few blisters, and some sunburn to go along with it. But once you get a taste for growing things, seeing them change right before your eyes, you won’t ever be bored with gardening again.

Admittedly, I got into growing things when I was in High School, and I was growing a few too many Marijuana plants. It made my mom nervous so she got rid of them. I was challenged at the time, but now I know she did the right thing. The stage was set though, I began to enjoy growing things for the sheer pleasure of seeing them grow and become beautiful, luscious displays of color and foliage.

Our gardens provide us a sanctuary, a haven away from the “Busyness” of life. That is a message that seems altogether lost on the Millenial generation. Those poor young people have been lied to so much by the Mainstream Media and their schooling, they think all they have to do is go plugin to some video game somewhere and look at virtual plants or something and they can call themselves gardeners, or get “Gardening points” for growing a “Virtual garden”. Ugh…

But I won’t dwell on that. I will leave you with the thought that my friend told me: “There aren’t enough gardeners” he said. That same friend also told me that there are not enough artists. Gee, are they related? Maybe I’ll take up painting. Or needlework. Or sculpture. I think my garden needs a few good sculptures.

I pray you all have a good day, one with as much rest and relaxation as there is excitement and stimulation. We all of us need a balance in our lives. Without it, we have no time to sit and meditate on things that really matter, like God, and His marvelous creation, and His love for us.

Leave a Reply

