What Is Faith – And Can I Get More Of It?


A friend posted a daily devotional on Facebook.

==

Gracethrufaith
Question Of The Day

Q. In Romans 12:3, it speaks of “the measure of Faith” God has given us.

My question is: do we all get the same “measure” of Faith, or are some of us given a bigger or smaller measure? Some Christians are called to serve in areas where I would think they would need a very large measure of Faith.

A. Paul said that everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved (Romans 10:13). When we do this, we are all gifted with the faith to believe that God has saved us. (Ephes 2:8-9).

We can all make the gift of faith we’ve been given grow, through the study of God’s word (Romans 10:17), and through living by faith instead of by sight (2 Cor. 5:7).

Some believers are actually given extraordinary faith as a spiritual gift (1 Cor. 12:9) to prepare them for some special service to the Lord.

But most people who seem to have stronger than average faith are like people who have stronger than average muscles. They’ve just spent more time exercising what they were given.

As we learn about what the Lord has done for us in the past, and follow the advice He’s given us for the present, we’ll become more certain that what He has pledged to do for us in the future will come to pass.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see” (Hebrews 11:1).

==

My comment:

Some. I’m no “Hero of the faith” that’s for sure. But I’ve met a few. I’m amazed especially at some of the folks from our old Church in CO. One couple, they met in College, married. He was studying medicine. He had been saved at a young age, and had always wanted to become a doctor and serve as a Missionary. She was also saved at a young age, and wanted to be a Missionary too. They married, he finished his studies, did his interning, then they went off to Africa. They were serving in Rwanda – and they were actually at Hotel Rwanda.

I just cannot even imagine. To those with extraordinary faith are given extraordinary tests I guess. How can we survive with all this evil around us? I really wonder that sometimes. The world is hell-bent, and our own hearts try to trick us and deceive us such that often times I run around questioning my own motives. Perhaps that’s a good thing, always trying to make sure I’m doing things for God, and not for myself. Following Jesus is definitely not the “Softer and easier path.”

The only experience I have in my own life that’s comparable is the trip I took to Haiti following the EQ of 2010. I saw a building collapsed, with about 200 bodies still in it, right next to a very large Church that was part of our denomination. We were in there worshiping on a Sunday morning, and I could look right out the window at that pile of rubble. Those people were all young folks, the building was a school, a trade school,

I found out later it was like Medical Technology, but they were all the best and brightest of Haiti, they were studying to become helpers to provide medicine for their Country, there were over 500 people in that building at the time of the EQ, and ALL were killed. It’s just numbing. There are no words for something like that. All I can do is shake my head and say: “Lord, you are sovereign, you know what you’re doing.” We just cannot understand why these things happen.

Faith is also letting God be God sometimes, and allowing Him the courtesy to do what He pleases, because He’s God. He knows what’s best for us, in the long run.

Leave a Reply

