November Disaster


Well, the results are in, and it looks like Romney will win both Arizona and his home state of Michigan today.  Too bad.  It’s really quite sad.  There are too many Republicans who will not vote for him.  I am personally undecided if I could ever vote for a Morman.  I hate to make it that much of an issue, but it really is, and yes, in spite of what JFK said, religion, or spirituality I should say does matter.  Your spiritual view determines your world view.  Your world view is everything.  Either you see this universe with God at the center, or you see it with man at the center.  Those who think man is everything are subject to the narrow view that “It’s all about me.”

Well, guess what?  It ain’t (all about me).  In fact, at this point, after listening to the Tea Party and OWS folks long enough I am convinced of only one thing:  We should not even be talking about life-styles or entitlements, what we should be talking about is morality.  It’s plain and simple folks.  Your worldview determines your morality, and that determines how you view your self in relation to everything else.  We were talking about it this past weekend as our church is studying a book called When the Church Was a Family.  I kept telling my friends from church that when we view the church as more important than us (in fact Jesus and God are on top, but we express our love for them tangibly by caring for others in our “Flock” or family) then we aren’t so much concerned about our own appetites.  We won’t be subject to neurosis (not as much anyhow) or obesity, or the numerous plagues that are anathema to mankind in this age.

We are self-destructing in this day and age simply because we have the selfish and self-centered worldview that leads to destructive behaviors.  If it’s all about me – then why shouldn’t I have everything I want – even at your expense?  Mitt Romney is a Mormon, and they’re generally not known as being selfish, but they are a cult as far as most of us Evangelicals are concerned, and that determines right off why most will not vote for him.  Sad, that just cost us 4 more years of the guy who is currently sitting in the Whitehouse whom I won’t even name anymore.  I’m just disgusted.  It’s sick.  There will be a charge of folks for the exits, and they’ll revolt and vote for Ron Paul in reaction, Paul will get 20% of the vote and Romney 35% and the incumbent 45% and we’ll be stuck wondering how the truck hit us when we thought we’d dodged that one and nobody really wanted that guy back except those on all those entitlement programs?

One thought on “November Disaster

  1. Either you see this universe with God at the center, or you see it with man at the center. Those who think man is everything are subject to the narrow view that “It’s all about me.”

    God is not at the center of my worldview, and I’m painfully aware of the fact that it’s NOT all about me. As such, I respect your opinion IRT spirituality & politics, but I don’t think it’s supported by the facts.

Leave a Reply

