Answer For An Athiest


I found a site earlier that is run by an Athiest.  It’s called:

http://whywontgodhealamputees.com/

I wrote a response to one of his blog articles, let me put also a link to that blog article:

http://whywontgodhealamputees.com/blog/?p=1971

Here’s my response (also contained in the comments on his site):

Wow! I’ve never read such nonsense, even from folks who claim to be “Scientific.” You know, I will pray for you though. Oh, sorry, I guess I should get your name, I’ll look it up in a minute. I wanted to share with you this quote:

AN ARTIST’S CONCEPT
“There is a principle which is a bar against all information, which is proof against all arguments and which can not fail to keep a man in everlasting ignorance-that principle is contempt prior to investigation.”
–HERBERT SPENCER

What this fellow is talking about is _real_ investigation, not some silly “prejudgements” as you are using here to make your case that God is imaginary. You likely would have been one of those who sided with the Pharisees against Jesus saying “Who does this guy think he is – claiming to be God?” There have been many like you throughout history. A few from the 20th Century come to mind, including Josh McDowell, and C.S. Lewis, and myself. I was not really an athiest, but I was certainly not raised with any kind of “Religious” training.

On the contrary, I am a product of “Dr. Spock.” I, perhaps like you, was raised to be an “Intellectual.” I was raised and taught that evolution is fact. I was taught that if you cannot touch it, see it, hear it, smell it or taste it, then it doesn’t exist. After all, how could something that’s “not there” be real?

I’m sorry dude, but I’m here to tell you that it is. I was a skeptic. I was also a hopeless drug addict who had no other choice – jail or rehab. On my last night of rehab, I was TERRIFIED of going back on the streets, so I decided to say a prayer. That was Dec. 31, 1982. I had no idea who God was, and certainly no idea who Jesus was, but I prayed to God, the Christian God, and I’ve been sober for almost 29 years now – on the power of that one prayer!

You may not believe it, but it works. It makes little difference if you do believe it actually. God still believes in you. He knows you, your heart, all your thoughts, the Bible says so in Psalm 139. I challenge you to read that Psalm, I mean really read it and ask yourself if God isn’t real after you read it. Don’t read it with a negative attitude, try to read it with a completely open mind. Try to realize that this “Religion” you are talking about has a history of over 4,000 years of devoted followers. These aren’t lunatics – they’re folks just like you and me, broken down, derelicts, some are intelligent, but we all make mistakes, some worse than others. But that same group of followers, we don’t all of us “hear voices” as you are saying, but we do study our scriptures diligently to try to figure out what God’s will is for our lives, we follow God and try to do as He teaches. When I met Jesus, and found out I was forgiven for all the bad stuff I had done in my life, it was the most freeing thing that ever happened to me in my entire life. It’s exactly as the Bible says: “The truth will set you free!” And it did!

I say none of this off-handedly or with any kind of malice. I truly pray for you and your soul because you are lost and hurt (somebody hurt you deeply, it shows). And you are bitter. I was there once. Most Christians will tell you they were there once, but we were lost and now we’re found. It’s not mass-hypnosis, or some kind of mind trick or brain-washing. It’s a real power that exists outside of space-time and is able to somehow live inside of us, in a spiritual dimension that we cannot see or touch or hear or even perceive in any way, yet the Kingdom of God is real and it is inside me.

When folks tell you that Jesus loves you, that is what it means. He knows you and wants you to know Him! He is the creator of the universe and all our physical laws and energy and matter and time, all of it! When Mr. Hubble took Dr. Einstein’s theories to the next level and determined that “Red shift” showed that in fact all galaxies and stars are moving away from each other, he gave us the Big Bang theory. What it proves though is that “God spoke, and there was light.” A singularity that caused the universe to come into existence is more in line with the Bible’s explanation of things than anything else I’ve ever read! And that part of the Bible was written over 3,000 years ago! How does that line up with your modern scientific “Theories?” Moses had no college, there weren’t even “Schools” in those days, and yet somehow, somebody gave him a vision of how the universe came into being. Do you think “men” came up with that themselves? How can that possibly be? Ask yourself and BE HONEST! It cannot be if men are all there is and there is nothing else. Only with a God who communicates with us is this possible. It’s no accident we have the Bible either. It is not a collection of lunatic writings handed down changing from one generation to the next. It is a robust, accurate account of the coming King of the Universe who would reconcile men to God and then the written words of that King, Messiah, our Savior to us as well as letters from Paul and Peter and other early church leaders (Apostles) to help us with our faith.

There is no “Dominionism” in this world. There are only followers of Jesus Christ, and others who do not follow Him. Jesus didn’t come as an earthly King, rather as a spiritual King. His Kingdom, and He said so, is not of this world. We are not about changing society, we are about Jesus’ business of changing the hearts and lives of people, one at a time, by bringing them into a saving relationship with the Lord of all the Universe.

I pray you meet Him today.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Answer For An Athiest

  1. Wow! That was so refreshing! The Spirit of God is in your and I am thankful for that, as I know what it entails. We can have hope in the after life when others have no understanding about the truth of Jesus’ purpose for coming here and dying here on earth for us. It’s such a beautiful revelation. It is the inspiration that keeps us going on when our future seems so bleak with all that is happening now a days. Jesus loves me and you
    , this I know.

Leave a Reply

