What’s Really Important?


You know, I’ve been blogging now for nearly a year. I looked back at my posts and realized that I’ve mostly talked about “problems.” It’s easy to see problems in this world, easier still in some ways to find fault in others. We seldom see it in ourselves. Let me say this: “I am a sinner saved by grace, and all I want to be is a JESUS FREAK!”

Boy, that doesn’t sit well in our modern society does it? Why not? I watched a pretty decent video last night, a Bible teacher was talking to teens, making things about as clear as you can. He said that as little as 50 years ago, the Bible was still held in awe and reverence in our society. Gradually though, that has diminished to the point where folks these days see it as “irrelevant” or “out of touch” with reality. Obviously, those folks have never read it. That was his point, and mine too.

I’ve read the Bible over 10 times, cover to cover, and I’ve read certain books, certain chapters dozens, and even hundreds of times. I find its message clear and relevant for all the day to day struggles I face. I have read hundreds (thousands?) of other books and I’ve never found a book like the Bible! There is no other living and active book on this earth that can teach us and speak directly to our hearts. It presents truth, it convicts us of our need for a Savior. The Bible corrects our path, “adjusts our sails” as is said in an old proverb.

So what is it about Jesus that makes me not want anything else but to follow Him? Simple: Following Jesus is the surest way to do the most good in this life. I want to make a difference. It’s about Him, His glory, not mine. The surest way to impacting the most lives in a positive way is to follow Jesus and to do His work. Pretty simple plan, eh? It’s also quite natural for us that when we have found the “truth” to want to share it with others.

I hope others will read this and realize they might need to see what this book called the Bible is about. I hope some will want to find out who Jesus is. Each of us needs to personally deal with that question in our lives: “Who is Jesus?”

Leave a Reply

