The 100MPH Club


Cheryl and I were walking around The Bass Pro Shop the other day when we noticed this amazing looking foul weather gear for fishermen that had a “100MPH” logo on it. On investigation we discovered that fishermen who have those really fast boats with the big engines and who want to go real fast wear this stuff to avoid getting wet and cold.

Wow! We were just blown away. Let me explain. We apparently live in a society that wants to go faster and faster and have success as quickly as possible. I thought that defeated the whole idea of fishing? You see, Cheryl and I have a canoe. We belong to what you might call “The 2MPH Club.” We like to go slow, and to paddle and relax as we go. It gives us a chance to see the birds, the fish and the other critters that may be out there. On the trip I took with my son in The Boundary Waters, we saw Pileated Woodpeckers and Bald Eagles too. We even saw a Bald Eagle catch a fish!

It might be that because I grew up with my parents on sailboats, that’s why I like to go slow. I believe however, that it’s part of your character, you’re either philosophically a person who’s all about getting there fast, or you’re about taking your time and relaxing. The problem is that when you’re going through life at 100MPH you miss an awful lot. You’re in such a hurry to get there, that you forget – it’s about the journey, not the destination. My prayer is that you all won’t succumb to the temptation to belong to the 100MPH club, but like us, you’ll go slow and stop and sniff the flowers along the way.

Leave a Reply

