Harvey Milk Day?


You have got to be kidding! Why on earth would somebody honor a fellow for being gay? When it all comes down to it, that’s what the honor is about. It’s not about what he did, or anything spectacular. He wasn’t a war hero, he wasn’t a cop or firefighter who did something worthwhile. He was assassinated. Was that because he was Gay? No, read the (unofficial) historical blurb from Wikipedia:

“Milk served 11 months in office and was responsible for passing a stringent gay rights ordinance for the city. On November 27, 1978, Milk and Mayor George Moscone were assassinated by Dan White, another city supervisor who had recently resigned but wanted his job back. Milk’s rise to political power was as symbolic as it was real. His election signified and was made possible by a shift in San Francisco politics. The assassinations and the ensuing events were the results of continuing ideological conflicts in the city.”

He was killed by a guy who wanted his job back. The last blurb was put in there by an activist. You can tell because it’s not a “fact” but an opinion, and then not even supported with any evidence. Harvey Milk was also responsible for passing laws promoting “Gay Rights.” There’s a HUGE battle today over “Gay Rights.” What the heck is that all about? Do gay people deserve more rights than I do? Or is it that they want rights to simply exist and not be disturbed? The laws now say that purposely targeting a gay person for a crime is a “hate” crime. So, if a mugger attacks me in downtown Denver, it’s just a crime, but if he attacks a gay person, it’s a hate crime? Oh, only if he knew that person was gay and if he was specifically targeting that fellow because he was gay. This is getting complicated. A gay person walks down a street, wearing a gay T-shirt and gets mugged. Now it’s a hate crime because the mugger should have known he was gay…

Now gay people want to get married. Huh? How can you be “married” if the definition of marriage is “man and wife?” I stick to the Bible on this one folks. It’s the only standard we’ve needed as the basis of our laws for the first 233 years of our country, and I don’t think we need to change it now. I’ve stated it before that gay people are out there trying to “prove” there is some sort of gay “gene” or reason for them being gay other than their own choices. What a crock! It should be obvious to anybody that if there were a gay gene, then evolution (if evolution even existed which it doesn’t) would have selected against it and extinguished it. Gay people just don’t want to admit they are responsible for their own choices, and that being gay is a choice, _their_ choice. And, since I don’t believe in evolution, rather I believe the Bible, I believe what God says about being gay: That it’s a perversion and an affront to God.

Don’t get me wrong, that doesn’t mean I don’t like gay people, in fact I love them too. God said we must love each other. But the fact that I’m an alcoholic and a drug addict doesn’t mean I get a free pass to “excuse” my behavior, and that I’m not responsible for the things I did. I am ultimately responsible for all my choices, so are gay people. Their choice to be gay, to have promiscuous sexual behavior and so on, can lead to serious consequences for them, not the least of which is disrespect of their own bodies. STD’s have been around a long time folks. The simple fact is the more people you have sex with, the more likely you are to contract a STD. Gay folks have on average something like 15 times more partners than straight people.

I’m sorry, I don’t miss Harvey Milk, I don’t think he was any kind of “hero” and I certainly don’t agree that we should have a “Harvey Milk Day.”

Leave a Reply

